Texas License To Carry (LTC) A Handgun Eligibility

Texas License To Carry (LTC) A Handgun Eligibility


An Applicant for a LTC (Texas License to Carry a Handgun previously known as CHL) must first meet the eligibility requirements described in the Texas Concealed Handgun Laws Government Code 411 Department of Public Safety of the State of Texas, Subchapter H, License to Carry a Concealed Handgun, GC § 411.172 Eligibility.


Texas License To Carry (LTC) A Handgun Eligibility

Eligibility Requirements:

  • Must be a legal resident of the state of Texas for 6 months prior to application
  • Must be 21 years of age (or military 18 - 21)
  • Must not have a felony conviction
  • Must not have a Class A or B Misdemeanor or Disorderly Conduct
  • Must not be charged with a Felony or Class A or B Misdemeanor or Disorderly Conduct
  • Must not be a Fugitive from Justice (for a Felony or Class A or B Misdemeanor)
  • Must not be a chemically dependent person
  • Must be qualified to purchase a handgun under Federal and State Law
  • Must be qualified of having good judgment regarding the use and storage of a handgun
  • Must not be delinquent in tax payments or money owed to the State Comptroller
  • Must not have been convicted in the past 5 years of a Class A or B Misdemeanor or Disorderly Conduct
  • Must not be delinquent in child support payments
  • Must not have a restraining order affecting a spousal relationship

Further Questions regarding eligibility should be directed to the
Texas Department of Public Safety (RSD). Check the Eligibility PDF

Texas License To Carry (LTC) A Handgun Eligibility

HOME

© 2016. Texas Open Carry Association™, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Website Development by: Magic Business Builder