Florida Concealed Weapon or Firearm License Program
Applicants should first check their eligibility before registering for this program.
The Florida (non-resident) Concealed Weapon or Firearm License Program is LEGAL in TEXAS offering the same rights and privileges as a Texas License to Carry (LTC) A Handgun. This includes Open Carry (effective January 1, 2016) and Concealed Campus Carry (effective August 1, 2016, for institutions of higher education in the state of Texas. The effective date for public junior colleges in Texas is August 1, 2017).
This program has many advantages:
- 3-4 Hour Class.
- Texas DPS and NRA Certified Instructor.
- The Florida License is valid for 7 years.
- No testing, - written or shooting!!
- One Page Application.
- The Florida Concealed Weapon License will allow you to carry any gun sold to the general public.
Included at No Charge:
- We furnish Gun/Ammo.
- We assist (on-site) with safe gun handling - loading, unloading and supervise gun discharge.
- We assist you in filling out all documents.
- Certificate of Completion when completing the course.
- Fingerprint card for your convenience.
- Notary service provided.
- Pre-addressed mailing envelope and a Checklist of ALL documents required by the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
- Gun Safety Rules (Unauthorized Access, Safe Storage, Child Safety)
- Review - Basic Parts of a Revolver
- Review - Basic Parts of a Semi-Automatic
- Review – Proper Ammunition
- Review of Texas Concealed Handgun License Form (Texas DPS - form CHL-16 and GS-5A)
- Reciprocity Rules and Agreements (Web Sites)
- Basic Information regarding Texas Firearm Laws
- Use of Force and Deadly Force
- Places Handguns are permitted/prohibited (where you can carry)
- Traveling with a handgun (including airports)
- Review Police Traffic Stops
- Review calling a Police dispatcher (911) for assistance (then call your lawyer)
- Review how to respond to Police at the site of an incident
- Understanding Your Rights
NO HANDGUNS OR LIVE AMMUNITION PERMITTED DURING CLASSROOM TRAINING The applicant is required to bring their Driver's License, notepad and two pens (black ink).
Florida Out-Of-State Resident Concealed Weapon or Firearm License fee $112.00 USD (Florida statute Section 790.06). Make your Check or Money Order payable to: Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
$125.00 $100.00 USD.
Disclaimer: Texas Open Carry Association LLC is not responsible for changes or modifications made by the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services to its website that may be different from information presented above.